This historic 842 acre park is nestled in broad stands of old-growth cedar and fir trees. With over 3,000 feet of freshwater shoreline on Deep Lake, it attracts boaters, swimmers and fishermen. It has more than 6 miles of hiking trails. The trails zigzag all around, so you are able to construct a loop of up to 5 miles – or less.
The park was originally called “Miller’s Glade” by the Miller family, who once owned the property. The family later changed the name to “Millersylvania,” meaning “wooded glade.” The park was originally homesteaded by Squire Lathum in 1855 before being sold to John Miller. Miller’s family gave the property to the state in 1921, stipulating that the land must forever be used as a park.
Millersylvania’s buildings were constructed in 1935 almost entirely by hand by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Relics of a narrow-gauge railroad, and several skid roads used in the 1800s by the logging industry, remain on park grounds. Stumps of trees still carry notch scars where springboards supported brawny loggers.